About Elephant Seal

There are two species of elephant seals, the northern and southern.

Northern elephant seals (Mirounga angustirostris) can be found in California and Baja California, though they prefer to frequent offshore islands rather than the North American mainland.

Southern elephant seals (Mirounga leonina) live in sub-Antarctic and Antarctic waters that feature brutally cold conditions but are rich in the fish, squid, and other marine foods these seals enjoy. Southern elephant seals breed on land but spend their winters in the frigid Antarctic waters near the Antarctic pack ice.

Fast Facts 

Common Name: Elephant Seals

Scientific Name: Mirounga

Type: Mammals

Diet: Carnivores

Group Name: Colony

Average life span: 9 years (northern); 20 to 22 years (southern)

Size: Up to 20 ft

Weight: Up to 4.5 tons


Never miss a Nat Geo moment

Your email address