Papua New Guinea Facts

Sorry, we couldn't find any results!
Please try a different filter above.

About Papua New Guinea Facts

Papua New Guinea, an island country in the western Pacific, gained independence from Australia in 1975. An abundance of minerals and petroleum brightens the outlook for this tropical nation, comprising eastern New Guinea and many small islands—including Bougainville and the Bismarck Archipelago. A patchwork of mountains, jungles, and swamplands, the country is home to some 700 Papuan and Melanesian tribes, each with its own language. Most of the inhabitants are subsistence farmers, although some grow cash crops.

Fast Facts 

Population: 5,887,000

Capital: Port Moresby; 275,000

Area: 462,840 square kilometres (178,703 square miles)

Language: 715 indigenous languages

Religion: Protestant, indigenous beliefs, Roman Catholic

Currency: Kina

Life Expectancy: 57

GDP per Capita: U.S. $2,100

Literacy Percent: 66


Never miss a Nat Geo moment

Your email address
We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services, personalise your advertising and remember your preferences. If you continue browsing, or click on the accept button on this banner, we understand that you accept the use of cookies on our website. For more information visit our Cookies Policy AcceptClose cookie policy overlay