About Wallaby

Wallabies are members of the kangaroo clan found primarily in Australia and on nearby islands. There are many wallaby species, grouped roughly by habitat: shrub wallabies, brush wallabies, and rock wallabies. Hare wallabies are named for their size and their hare-like behavior.

All wallabies are marsupials or pouched mammals. Wallaby young are born tiny, helpless, and undeveloped. They immediately crawl into their mothers' pouches where they continue to develop after birth—usually for a couple of months. Young wallabies, like their larger kangaroo cousins, are called joeys. Even after a joey leaves the pouch, it often returns to jump in when danger approaches.

Fast Facts 

Common Name: Wallabies

Scientific Name: Notamacropus

Type: Mammals

Diet: Herbivores

Average life span in the wild: 9 years

Size: 12 to 41 in; tail, 10 to 29 in

Weight: 4 to 53 lbs


Never miss a Nat Geo moment

Your email address